the FJORDS!

Hi folks!! Here I am again!

I am SO EXCITED to tell you guys about my FIRST (and probably only) solo-trip around Europe!

So ever since the beginning of this semester I have wanted to hike the FJORDS in Norway, however, for many reasons I couldn’t find someone to go with so I said “screw it” I am going to go by myself!

ANYWAYS, so after a delayed flight, 3 hours of sleep, and a 3 hour drive, I proceeded onto my 10 hour hike. (Yes I was tired as hell, no I was not letting that stop me.)

OHH, and by the way there is no need to go caving in Norway. If you have an itch to do it, honestly just rent a car. No I am being dead serious. The highways actually go INTO the mountains. Yes INTO them. All of a sudden you are driving next to the water and then you go under the mountain. I mean you could literally see the rock formations everywhere. I felt like I was on a Disney roller coaster, except it was scarier. I tried taking a photo, but unfortunately my hands were busy trying to steer the car. (Trying to take a photo and drive, even at 4am when no one is on the roads, is still super dangerous folks. 10 out of 10 would not recommend).

Speaking of highways, the main one near my hike LITERALLY is a one way. I mean there is traffic coming both ways. Great in theory, except for the fact that only one car can really fit on the road. (And if the car would happen to go off the side of the road it would have fallen into the water and turned into an icicle. Yes an icicle, it is that cold in Norway.) Yeah, you don’t need much sleep when you are functioning on straight adrenaline. Truly.

So I get to the hike and tell the tour guide that I hadn’t really slept or ate yet, and he basically looked me straight in the eyes and said you are not going to be able to finish this hike. (HA bitch didn’t know that I am stubborn as hell, and when you tell me I can’t do something, I try 200% harder to succeed).

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

And that is exactly what I did (though that didn’t come without feeling like dying / wanting to cry / and dying some more). No I am not even exaggerating! We got an hour into the hike and I thought I was going to puke and pass out at the same time. I swear at one point we were hiking literally vertical to the sky (Yes that mountain was THAT steep). After about two hours we were 1100 meters high (or 3600 feet for you American folks). And let me tell you it felt like one million meters after the first hour.

Did I forget to mention that it was below 0 Celsius up the mountain as well? Ohh and I also ran out of water during lunch, which was hour 3. (So for those of you who are bad at math, I was without water for about 7 hours while exerting a shit ton of energy. No I really don’t know how I did it. And no ice is not a good substitute for water, don’t be fooled).

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

 

So five hours later and we arrived at our destination, Trolltunga. (Yes climbing down to the ledge was TERRIFYING, but I didn’t put my body through hell to not take a photo, I mean who do you think I am?) What does Trolltunga mean you ask? It means trolls tongue.

Ohh did I forget to mention we were wearing snow shoes? Never ever again in my life do I want to wear those things. If you don’t know what snow shoes are, they are those netty looking things that you see attached to dog sleds. Well anyway they attach to your hiking shoes. And they were NOT made for people with tiny feet. I swear they were either made for men or for Scandinavian women because mine were falling off me.

Speaking of snow shoes falling off, as we were approaching the ledge of the mountain (it was dangerously icy and if you fell, well you might as well say bye to your loved ones because you could have rolled right off the mountain). ANYWAYS, (I’m alive folks so you know where this story is ending) while we were hiking this very dangerous part my snow shoe, of course, falls off. So now I’m pretty sure I shit my pants, but the other members I was hiking with helped me sit down and put my shoe back on. Moral of the story kids, don’t try this at home.

I swear I really enjoyed myself on this hike, but after ten hours of straight walking I thought my legs were going to just stop working. But honestly, I would do it again in a heart beat to see that gorgeous view.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Well thats all for now.

Stay hygge!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

